RSS

Daily Archives: August 16, 2011

Is There Really a Remedy to Avoid Crying Whilst Chopping Onions?

Chopping Onions…tears…me…NEVER!

I put a metal spoon (dipped side) on my tongue, and chop away (and I’ll let you in on a lil secret), till this day not one tear.

It’s quite amazing how a small innocent looking vegetable that is used to flavor so many dishes, can have such a powerful effect on our eyes (and nose for some).

Just one slice of an onion can send even the bravest of souls, running from the kitchen to the bathroom, to wash their hands and face because the Scent is just so strong.

So I guess my question is, is there really a remedy that prevents our eyes from watering when cutting onions?

Are all those remedies we hear about such as hold a wooden matchstick between your teeth,  use a sharp knife, hold a piece of bread in your mouth etc just plain ole wives tales?

What do you think…

 

Editor Sherene – West Indian groceries online

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,